thumb_smDeBakey_279toneThe Michael E. DeBakey Journalism Awards, named after FBR’s late chairman Dr. Michael E. DeBakey, honor professional journalists whose reporting has enhanced public understanding of how the humane and responsible use of animal models leads to medical and scientific discoveries.  Awards are presented for outstanding investigative or interpretive reporting published, broadcast or posted online between March 15, 2013 and March 15, 2014.  Award winners will receive a Michael E. DeBakey Award, a $1,000 cash prize and a trip to Washington, D.C., to attend the awards ceremony at the Mayflower Hotel.


Entries may be submitted in the following categories: 

  • Print – Large Market (national/international)
  • Print – Small Market (local/regional)
  • Television
  • Radio
  • Online
  • Viral Video

Entries must be accompanied by the following: a cover letter (or email) from journalist explaining the importance of the piece, journalist’s biography, brief letter (or email) of consent from journalist or employer and optional letter(s) of support from employer or colleagues.

Viral Video entries please click here for full entry rules and requirements.

Submit by April 30, 2014 to:

[email protected], Subject: The Michael E. DeBakey Journalism Awards


Foundation for Biomedical Research
818 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 900
Washington DC 20006
Attention: The Michael E. DeBakey Journalism Awards